Hours of Operation
**Please note that if you choose to use any of the cards listed above, a service charge of 2.25% plus .25 cents will apply to the total charge. This service fee is administered through a third party and Rutherford County Clerk does not receive these fees.
Any business desiring to sell beer that is located within Rutherford County, Tennessee but outside the city limits of Murfreesboro, Smyrna or LaVergne.
Complete a Rutherford County Beer Permit Application, carefully following the instructions.
For further information, please contact the Rutherford County Beer Permit Department in the Office of the Rutherford County Clerk at (615) 898-7800.
The Rutherford County Beer Board holds its meetings at 6:00 p.m. at the following location:
Tennessee Code Annotated 57-5-104 requires that any person, firm, corporation, joint-stock company, syndicate or association engaged in the selling, distributing, storing or manufacturing beer shall remit a $100.00 Privilege Tax to the County Clerk each year on January 1st but no later than January 31.
Please Note: If a beer permit holder does not pay the Privilege Tax by January 31, the Rutherford County Beer Board shall suspend or revoke the beer permit or impose a civil penalty upon the owner of the beer permit if the Privilege Tax is not paid within ten (10) days after receiving notice of delinquency by certified mail from the Rutherford County Clerk. Where a Beer Permit has been revoked, no new Beer Permit shall be issued to permit the sale of beer on the same premises until after the expiration of one (1) year from the date the revocation becomes final and effective. The Rutherford County Beer Board, at its discretion, may determine that issuance of a Rutherford County Beer Permit before the expiration of one (1) year from the date of revocation becomes final is appropriate, if the individual applying for such issuance is not the original holder of the Beer Permit or any family member who could inherit from such individual under the statute of interstate succession.
Criminal Search on My Employees
Tennessee Code Annotated 57-5-105(a)(3) states..."No person, firm, joint-stock company, syndicate or association having at least a five (5%) percent interest in the beer establishment nor any person to be employed in the distribution or sale of beer be convicted of any violation of the laws against possession, sale, manufacture, or transportation of beer or other alcoholic beverages or any crime involving moral turpitude within the past ten (10) years".
Appear, in person, before a Clerk at Murfreesboro City Court located on the second floor of Murfreesboro City Hall.
Appear, in person, before a Clerk at General Sessions Court located on the first floor of the Judicial Building.
If you have any questions or comments please e-mail firstname.lastname@example.org.
|©2015 Rutherford County Office of Information Technology. All Rights Reserved
County Courthouse Suite 105 • Murfreesboro, TN 37130