Hours of Operation
**Please note that if you choose to use any of the cards listed above, a service charge of 2.25% plus .25 cents will apply to the total charge. This service fee is administered through a third party and Rutherford County Clerk does not receive these fees.
Appointment of Conservator or Guardian
To be appointed Conservator of an incompetent person or Guardian of a minor child an attorney must first be retained. The attorney will prepare the appropriate documents to be filed with the court and make an appointment with one of the General Sessions Judges to hear the request for appointment of Conservator or Guardian.
Once the General Sessions Judge has heard the request and has signed the Order appointing the Conservator or Guardian, the newly appointed Conservator or Guardian is required to file the court documents and the signed Order with the Rutherford County Clerk.
Bond of Conservator or Guardian
Before the Conservator or Guardian can officially perform the duties as required by law a Bond must be filed with the Rutherford County Clerk, unless otherwise noted in the Order signed by the General Sessions Judge. The General Sessions Judge will set the dollar amount of the Bond. The Bond can be issued by an insurance company authorized to do business in the State of Tennessee or may be issued by two personal sureties (two people who own real estate in the State of Tennessee). The two personal sureties are required to appear, in person, before the Rutherford County Clerk to sign the Bond.
Court Costs – Fees
Once the documents have been filed, court costs is required to be paid to the Rutherford County Clerk in the amount of $299.50. The court costs includes filing the petition and Order appointing the Conservator or Guardian, Litigation Tax and the issuance of one letter of Conservatorship or Guardianship. Additional court costs may apply; therefore please refer to the price list below.
$299.50-Open Guardian/Conservator-this amount does not include service of process.
Inventory of Conservator or Guardian
Upon being appointed Conservator of an incompetent person or Guardian of a minor child, the Conservator or Guardian is required to file an Inventory of the Estate with the Rutherford County Clerk within sixty (60) days of appointment.
Annual or Final Accounting of Conservator or Guardian
The Conservator or Guardian is required to file an Annual Accounting Form, once a year, with the Rutherford County Clerk unless otherwise noted in the Order signed by the General Sessions Judge.
The Conservator or Guardian is required to file a Final Accounting Form with the Rutherford County Clerk upon the death of the incompetent person or minor child or at such time the ward is no longer in need of a Conservator or Guardian.
If you have any questions or comments please e-mail firstname.lastname@example.org.
|©2015 Rutherford County Office of Information Technology. All Rights Reserved
County Courthouse Suite 105 • Murfreesboro, TN 37130