Rutherford County Offices will be closed Dec. 23rd & 26th for the holiday.

REGISTER OF DEED

Menu

Fee Calculator
E-Recording
Filing Requirements
Policies
State Fees
Title Search
E-Records Management Initiative
History


Register of Deeds
Heather Dawbarn
Elected Official

#319 N. Maple Street
Room 133
Murfreesboro, TN 37130
Monday–Friday
8:00am - 4:00pm
Phone: (615) 898-7870
Fax: (615) 898-7987
hdawbarn@rutherfordcountytn.gov

Filing Requirements

All Documents
• Property in Rutherford County
• Original document
• Document must be dated
• Examine whether the document is taxable or not
• Name of preparer of instrument 
• Must be signed
• Notarized with complete notary acknowledgement 
• Date notarized
• Date notary commission expires
**If missing seal or notary commission date, check state requirements to see if they are necessary
• Check payable to Register of Deeds 
• Make sure the check is dated & signed
Self-Addressed stamped envelope included
**If no postage is sent client will be billed.
**Certified copy from the courts must be signed by the clerk & sealed
**The Re-Recording of any instruments requires that all original grantor(s) resign & be re-acknowledged. If you are unable to get the instrument resigned then a Scrivener’s Affidavit is acceptable and it will be indexed as an Affidavit.

Affidavit of Heirship 
• Name of Deceased Individual
• List of Heirs
• Affiant must sign

Affidavit of Lost Assignment 
• Original borrower
• Original reference number
• Assignor & Assignee

Affidavit Void Foreclosure
• Original reference number(s)
• Borrower name

Amendment of Deed of Trust 
• Original reference number(s) 
• If it amends the amount, must state, “The amount of increase in the Maximum Principal Indebtedness for Tennessee Recording Tax Purposes is $________.” If no increase insert $0.00
• A $250 or double the tax penalty, whichever is greater, applies when executed over 60 days of the prepared date

Appointment of Substitute Trustee
• Original debtor
• Original reference number

Articles of Amendment

Articles of Dissolution -These all pertain to Charters filed with the Secretary of State

Articles of Incorporation
• 
Principal office must be located in Rutherford County

Articles of Merger
• 
Cover letter from the state and original document

Articles of Organization Assignment of DOT 
• Assignor & assignee
• Debtor’s name
• Instrument number of assigned document
• Maximum Principal Indebtedness for Tennessee Recording Tax Purposes is $0
• (If amount is listed taxes must be paid)

Assignment of Lease 
• Lessor & Lessee or Landlord & Tenant

Assignment of Rents 
• Debtor & Lender needed
• Reference Original DOT only if not filed after DOT
• Maximum Principal Indebtedness for Tennessee Recording Tax Purposes is $0.00. Unless there is an increase then that amount would be listed.

Assignment of Rents & Leases
• Debtor & Lender needed
• Reference Original DOT only if not filed after DOT
• Maximum Principal Indebtedness for Tennessee Recording Tax Purposes is $0.00. Unless there is an increase then that amount would be listed.

Assumption Agreement 
• Original borrowers
• Assuming party
• Bank/Lender
• Reference original DOT
• Maximum Principal Indebtedness for Tennessee Recording Tax Purposes is $0, unless the Original Borrower(s) is released then we would tax the amount being assumed.

Beautification Lien 
• Name of person lien is against

Bond to Discharge Lien
• Name of the Principal, Surety, Claimant & Property Owner

Cancel Release & Reinstate Deed of Trust
• Reference number of the release
• Reference number of the Deed of Trust
• Borrower, Trustee & Lender

Charter 
• Principal office must be located in Rutherford County
• Cover letter from the state and original document

Civil Warrant 
• Must be a certified copy signed, dated and sealed from the clerk

Contract/Purchase & Sell Agreement 
• Must be signed by the seller
• Maximum Principal Indebtedness for Tennessee Recording Tax Purposes is $_______.
*Only taxable if terms are included.

Correction of Notary Acknowledgement -
• Reference # of the corrected document

Declaration of Void Successor Trustee Sale
• Reference number of Successor Trustee Deed & original DOT
• Person or Company who purchased the sale on the STD
• Original or present borrowers
• Check for Exhibits

Decree for Redemption & Decree for Confirming
• Chancery clerk deed with seal from court
• Owners name and address

Sale 
• Tax bill name and address
• Map and parcel number
• Oath of Consideration – the amount purchased or the amount redeemed.

Deed of Trust
• Debtor name
• Secured party name
• Trustee name
• Property Description
• Current derivation clause
• Maximum Principal Indebtedness for Tennessee Recording Tax Purposes is $________.

Easements
• Oath of consideration, taxable
• Proper signatures
**Easements conveyed to County must be approved by County. They must be signed, dated & sealed before recording.

Final Decree of Divorce 
• Certified Copy from the Court

Divorce 
• 
Real property being divested out of and vested into

Foreclosure Notice of Default 
• Present borrower
• Present mortgagee
• Reference # of original DOT

Foreclosure Notice of Appt. Trustee
• Present borrower
• Present mortgagee
• Reference # of original DOT

Foreign Charter Greenbelt Assessment
• Must be original or certified copy from the state it’s coming from.
• Approved by tax assessor

Installment Deeds
• Property description, derivation clause
• New owner name and address
• Tax bill name and address
• Map & parcel number
• Oath of consideration
• Maximum Principal Indebtedness for Tennessee Recording Tax Purposes is $________.
• Trustee needed
• Name of Seller
• Name of Buyer

Installment Sales Contract 
• Signed and notarized by debtor
• Maximum Principal Indebtedness for Tennessee Recording Tax Purposes is $_______.
Only taxable if terms are included

Liens 
• Name of party placing lien
• Name of property owner
• Amount of lien

Limited Partnership
• Any partnership that was formed before 1985 does not go to the Secretary of State for filing

Master Deeds & Master Deed Amend 
• Must be approved by Property Mapping before recording
• Check all exhibits

Military Discharge
• Member copy #4 only
• No charge for recording or for certified copies
• Give individual the option to remove their Social Security # from the document
If they choose to do so, make a copy of the MD mark thru the SS# then scan the copy

Modification Agreement 
• If it modifies the amount, must state, “The amount of increase in the Maximum Principal Indebtedness for Tennessee Recording Tax Purposes is $_______.”  If no increase insert $0.00.
• A $250 or double the tax penalty, whichever is greater, applies when executed over 60 days of the prepared date.
• Need original reference number

Mortgage
• Debtor name
• Secured party name
• Property description & current derivation clause
• Maximum Principal Indebtedness for Tennessee Recording Tax Purposes is $______.

Notice and Affidavit Limiting Maximum Principal Amount
• Borrower
• Reference #
• Lender

Notice of Completion 
• Name of owner
• Name of contractor/owner
• Proper address/lot & subdivision
• Date of completion

Notice of Federal Tax Lien -
• Name and address of debtor & amount of debt

Notice of State Tax Lien
• Name and address of debtor & amount of debt

Partial Releases
• Name of Party being released
• Reference Instrument number being released
• Description of what is being released (Ex. Lt 1 Chase Point)

Power of Attorney 
• Grantor and grantee names

Quitclaim Deed
• New owner name and address
• Tax bill name and address
• Map and parcel
• Grantor and grantee names
• Conveys interest only (no have and to hold language, does not warrant title) 
• Property description & current derivation clause
• Oath of consideration may have $0 or actual consideration

Release of Assignment of Lease
• Reference instrument number being released
• Assignor/Assignee

Releases of Lien 
• Reference instrument number being released
• Name of party being released

Restrictions
• Must be signed by the Developer
• If a drawing is attached, must be approved by Property Mapping
• TCA 66-27-107

Revocation of Power Of Attorney
• Person revoked
• Reference number of original Power of Attorney (if applicable)

Scriveners Affidavit
• Reference number of instrument being corrected
• Can attach an original document that has already been recorded
• Borrower/Trustee/Lender or Seller/Buyer

Subdivision Plats
• Paper copy of plat (If from another City Planner)
• Signature & dated of planning commission
• Signature and seal of surveyor

Subordination Agreement
• Reference #’s of original DOT and the subordinate DOT
• Subordinate Lender
• Borrowers
• Original Lender

Substitute Trustees Deed 
• Original debtor
• Reference number of original Deed of Trust
• Oath of consideration
• Grantor & Grantees names
• New owner name & address
• Tax bill name & address
• Map & parcel number

Surveyor’s Affidavit
• Name of Surveyor
• Purpose of the Survey
• Attached Survey
• Reference instruments numbers associated with the survey

UCC1 Financing Statement
• Collateral to secure indebtedness
• Debtor and secured party name and address
• Maximum Principal Indebtedness for Tennessee Recording Tax Purposes is $_______. If $0.00 we require the reference number of where taxes were paid.
• Special form Revised Article 9

Fixture filings must have:
• Fixture Filing Box checked or the document must specify it should be filed as a Fixture in real estate records
• Address of property where fixture is located

UCC Amendment 
• Need Debtor/Secured Party
• Reference number of original UCC & Amendments

UCC Assignment 
• Need Debtor/Secured Party/Assigning Party
• Reference number of original UCC & Amendments

UCC Continuation 
• Need Debtor/Secured Party
• Reference number of original UCC & Amendments
• Continuations must have wording:
“Exactly same collateral as prior debt, does not increase principal debt”

UCC Termination 
• Need Debtor/Secured Party
• Reference number of original UCC & Amendments
• Must refer to all subsequent documents

UCC3 True Lease 
*“True lease” transactions must state $0 as amount and “No security interest-true lease”
*Information only filings must state $0 for special indebtedness & “No security interest-notice only”

Warranty Deed 
• Name and address of new owner
• Tax bill name & address
• Map and parcel number(s)
• Oath of consideration
• Property description & derivation clause
• Buyer & Seller

Wills 
• Certified copies from probate

Withdrawal of Foreclosure
• Original borrower
• Present mortgagee
• Reference number of DOT