Organization Overview
Pay Ambulance Bill
Special Teams
Education Division
Public Education
Privacy Notice
AHA Instructors Rosters
Public Education Classes
Medical Examiner’s Office

Brian Gaither
Director of EMS
[email protected]

Media Contacts

Lisa Kaye
[email protected] 
(615) 849-0340

– CALL 911 –

(615) 896-2520

Poison Control Center

611 East Lytle Street
Murfreesboro, TN 37130
(615) 898-7790

Organization Overview

Rutherford County Emergency Medical Service is a county service which originated on October 15, 1972. Rutherford County EMS is the primary Advanced Life Support (ALS) provider for the County of Rutherford. EMS is funded by the property tax. Rutherford County EMS provides the citizens of Rutherford County with the following services:

Advanced Life Support
Public Event Medical Coverage
T.O.P.S. Medics
Bike Medics
Public Service and Education Medics
First Aid/CPR Instructors

Number of response units:

13 Ambulance stations
15 ALS Ambulances
29 Total Ambulances
1 Tactical Response Unit
6 4x4 ALS First Response Units
Ambu Mass Casualty Bus

We have 15 ambulances operating on a standard 24 hour on and 72 hour off shift.

Shift Commanders
A-Shift - Doug Leverette
B-Shift - Josh Wright
C-Shift - Wendy Lampley
D-Shift - Mike Johnson

Shift Captains 
A-Shift - Rick Murr, Clay Jackson
B-Shift - Joe Shannon, Justin Jernigan
C-Shift - Austin Meador, Jonathan Renberg
D-Shift - Chris Reed, Janna Chew

EMS Operations consists of 15 transport units operated from 13 locations around the county. These ambulances are responsible for the primary 911 medical response twenty-four hours a day. EMS units are staffed with a minimum of one EMT-Paramedic and one Advanced EMT.

Each shift is assigned a Commander and two Captains. The Commander's are responsible for all daily operations of the shift and work twenty-four-hour shifts. The Commanders and Captains are part of the administrative staff and are also available to respond to calls in an ALS equipped 4x4 vehicle.