Fire - Rescue Department

Rutherford County Fire Rescue is an all-hazards department serving the fourth largest County in the state of Tennessee.  We are a progressive, citizen-first organization with highly trained personnel.

The mission of the Rutherford County Fire Rescue Department is to provide the highest quality of services to residents and visitors through commitment to training, leadership and professionalism with integrity, teamwork and dedication.

Department History
Prior to 2010, fire protection in Rutherford County outside municipal city limits was provided by 11 all-volunteer 501(c)(3) non-profit fire departments.  These departments were not associated with the County and provided fire protection services under contract with Rutherford County to their respective districts. 

In 2010, the County Government created a County-wide fire department merging several of these volunteer organizations under a new County agency.  Between 2010 and 2014, The Rutherford County Fire Department continued to operate as a volunteer fire department with Fire Chief.  In 2014, the County was awarded a SAFER grant allowing for the hiring of the first 12 full-time Firefighters (4 per shift with 3 shifts).  At that time, the Rutherford County Fire-Rescue Department operated out of one station on Barfield Road.  With the merger of the Walter Hill Volunteer Fire Department, a second full-time station was added in 2016.  In 2019, Rutherford County EMS Special Operations was merged with Rutherford County Fire Rescue adding a third full-time station.  In 2020-2021, The County Commission approved the construction of six new Public Safety Buildings. 

Today, RCFR serves Rutherford County with 97 full-time personnel out of 6 stations and continues to grow to meet the high demand for services in one of the State's fastest growing counties.


Fire-Rescue News